Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Large traditional SW France Farmhouse in tranquil rural location for house-sit/share

  • Location: France, Montegut Arros
  • Period available: 11 months, 4 weeks
  • Starts: 1 October 2018
  • Ends: 1 October 2019
  • Testimonials: They have no testimonials
  • Pets: Dog(s), Cat(s) – 2 small/medium sized very friendly (non-aggressive) old dogs & 2 old cats
  • Last updated: 8 July 2018

About this assignment

I spend most of my weekdays out at work renovating/maintaining properties here in SW France, at weekends I am often away in the Basque Country at my girlfriend's home & I visit my family in the UK every few months so are looking for someone (preferably a single person) to occupy an independent, separate and private side my house and take care of my 2 very friendly dogs and 2 cats whilst I am away, living here on an ongoing / permanent basis. The fully furnished accommodation is available immediately, I have had house sitters here for the last 7 years or so, most recently family members who have had to return to the UK at short notice unfortunately.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

The house-sitters / sharer will get use of the self-contained one side of my property which includes 2 bedrooms (one with log burner), large log burner heated lounge, WC, shower bathroom & utility room. Only the large kitchen is shared with me. The daily responsibility is to care for (feed) my animals as necessary whilst I am away from the house & any basic house work to maintain their side of the property. There is a very low monthly "rent" of 100€ which is only in place to cover the cost of any electricity, gas & heating oil that is used by the house-sitters. I am certainly not looking to generate any income from the house-share.

What are the good features of the property and location

The large traditional L-shaped 250yr old farmhouse is in a very quiet & picturesque valley with a large garden (complete with a vegetable garden which you are welcome to use, and fruit trees etc,). Situated 20 mins from Tarbes town (Int'l airport) with all shops & amenities, 45 mins from Pau (Int'l airport), 2hrs from the large city of Toulouse and an hour or so from the Spanish border. There is a small village 5 mins away with Doctor/ Dentist /Shops etc. and a 45 min drive to the Pyrenees (an hour to a number of skiing resorts).The property has free good connection Internet WiFi & UK/French television if required. There is a fully equipped gym in a converted barn including cross-trainer, running & rowing machines, weights benches & free weights etc...all this is freely available for use.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

I need someone who will not be spending long periods of time away from the house at work or travelling for example as I do because my animals will need some attention, however they are old and well accustomed to being left alone so I am certainly not looking for someone to "babysit" them 24/7. Just someone who has an affinity with animals & who is available to feed/rarely walk them as necessary.

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top