Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

House/pet sit on Somerset/Dorset border - 22th July 2019 to 26th July 2019

United Kingdom, Sherborne, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Fish

2 x dog & 1 x cat & some fish

Duration

  • Period available: 4 days
  • Starts: 22 July 2019
  • Ends: 26 July 2019

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We are looking for a reliable, animal loving person/couple who could look after our dogs, Alan & Peanut & our cat (George) while we are away for a short break in July. A great opportunity for someone to enjoy a week on the edge of a beautiful country village in a stunning part of Dorset.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Walking the dogs 2 times a day, feeding everyone and that's about it! And of course, strokes and cuddles. We also have a pond in the garden so a bit of food for the goldfish & an aquarium in the lounge so a pinch in there too. Otherwise, sit back, relax or get out and explore a lovely part of the South West of England.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is a standard 3 bed semi, but in a lovely village (Milborne Port) on the border of Somerset and Dorset. We back on to fields with loads of great walks and are only 2 minutes from the beautiful and historic town of Sherborne. Yeovil is 15 mins, Shaftesbury 30 mins, Wincanton 10 minutes and Weymouth 45 minutes. We are ideally placed for exploring most of Dorset, Somerset and West Devon. Milborne Port itself has 2 pubs, a Co-op, Post Office, butcher, newsagents, library & doctor's surgery so has good local amenities. Nearby Sherborne has a Waitrose & Sainsburys. There are buses on the hour into Sherborne (5 min journey) and there is a railway station in Sherborne with good links.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Peanut is a our 2 year old Jack Russell x Chihuahua & is an absolute dream - she is so much fun, loves cuddles, walks, balls, toys - you name it she's on it! Alan will be 11 months old in July & is also a Jack Russell x Chihuahua - very scruffy & a real character. Fully house-trained too. Our cat George is VERY old & sleeps ALL day & ALL night so no trouble at all. Quite possibly may sadly be departed by July?!?!

Last updated: 17 March 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Lovely people, lovely pets

We house sat for Becky in December 2017. After agreeing the house sit we communicated via text message and Becky made sure we had all the information we needed. On the day of arrival Becky greeted us with a big smile and she introduced us to her husband, 2 dogs and the cat. She showed us her home and we talked about how to look after the pets. It was all very relaxed but at the same time we got all the instructions we needed. During the house sit the animals kept us entertained, and we also got to meet Becky's kids and father. We didn't have any problems at all and really enjoyed staying at Becky's house. Would definitely mind her house again if the opportunity arises!

Carolus, United Kingdom, 24 December, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions