Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Dog lovers wanted to sit in beautiful 17th century thatched cottage in rural Hampshire

United Kingdom, England, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)

They are Mother & daughter collie/lab cross aged 12 &7. They are very affectionate and good company.

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks, 1 day
  • Starts: 17 February 2023
  • Ends: 4 March 2023

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We're looking for kind, reliable dog loving people who will enjoy being with 2 active dogs in a rural setting. It is important to us that the housesitters will always put the dogs' needs first.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

The dogs need 2 20-40 minute walks a day, though any more than that would be appreciated. They have dried food twice a day and love being played with and cuddled. However they can be left for up to 4 hours at a time & so long as their needs are met, they are calm & happy.
There are a few indoor plants which need occasional watering. In winter we like to feed the birds outside the kitchen.

What are the good features of the property and location

The cottage is over 400 years old, but has a light bright extension & all mod cons. There is fibre broadband so excellent wifi.There is a big open fire in the sitting room & an Aga in the kitchen. It is in a village with a church & pub & lots of great walks straight from the house & many more within a short drive. The South Downs & South Coast are both within an hour's drive. The Georgian towns of Alresford & Odiham are within 10 miles & we are in the heart of Jane Austen country, close to Chawton, Winchester & Steventon.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The nearest town is Basingstoke, 4 miles away, but it feels very rural so a car is essential. Tilly is an older dog now so needs a bit more attention.

Last updated: 18 November 2022
7 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Beautiful home and company

Better late than never with this testimonial for my lovely 6 week stay back in Feb/March! I had a truly relaxing and enjoyable time with Till and Inca mum and daughter collie labrador lovelies! ; ) Everything for an enjoyable dog loving walking person/s and with a comfortable and spacious garden right by woody walks etc I am very grateful for my chance to spend some of the cold late winter in a character full and loving home alongside such sweet playful company throughout. All the best and thanks again. Greg

greg, 02 June, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions