Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

7 Week house/dog sitter required in Glasgow Feb/March

United Kingdom, Glasgow, Scotland

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Lab-collie. Rescue dog. 10 years old. Has arthritis, early kidney failure (but no symptoms for latter). Requires daily medication (tablet crushed with yoghurt) and a strict low-fat diet. He is strong-willed with huge personality, experienced dog owner pre

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 2 weeks
  • Starts: 8 February 2019
  • Ends: 30 March 2019

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I'm looking for a responsible, conscientious, tidy experienced dog/animal lover to keep my dog Murphy company while I'm on a work attachment.

Must put Murphy first and spend decent amount of time at home with him, and respect the property and neighbours. Suited best to someone who works from home rather than one who is here to be a tourist in the city.

Happy for single person or couple as only one bedroom available, but no families and no pets (Murphy doesn't like to share!).

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Primarily looking after my lab-collie cross Murphy. Walking/feeding/entertaining him. Putting him first for the duration.

Keeping house tidy and looking lived in from the outside.

Ideally feeding the garden birds too.

What are the good features of the property and location

Lovely 1930s mid-terrace, lots of original features. Front & back gardens, but no maintenance at this time of year. Garden birds in back - great to watch. Big kitchen/diner with good light. Private - not over-looked front or back. Big bedroom, kingsize bed. Lounge with Sky TV and stereo. Fast broadband. Washing machine (no tumble dryer) and no dishwasher. Lovely big range cooker though. Gas central heating. 1 bathroom with bath/shower.

Location great too. Quiet street. Good neighbours. 2 train lines into city, take 6 minutes. Buses too. 3 close supermarkets of various sizes. 4 parks within 20 minute walk. Plenty of bars, coffee shops and restaurants in area.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Murphy is a rescue dog and has a strong personality. An experienced dog owner would be preferred as he is wilful and does have a few issues (mostly a great dog and all dog sitters have loved him). Also someone who will feed him correct amount (he has arthritis so weight has to be kept low & he loves food!) The house sitter must be able to cope with him and be willing to get up early every day (he's an early riser) and be home to feed and walk at approx 4.30 daily. Murphy does not travel well, so sitter cannot take him anywhere by car, so will be tied to the area for the duration (although Murphy is used to spending a few hours alone each day during the week - but ideally no more than 4 or 5).

Otherwise, house-sitter just needs to be respectful of the area, house and my property.

Last updated: 14 January 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.