Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Trusting house sitters wanted for European summer - Switzerland

Switzerland, Sottens, Vaud

Pets

  • Cat(s)
  • Chicken(s)
  • Farm animal(s)

During the summer we have a few sheep to keep the grass down in our orchard. They require watering daily.

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 2 weeks
  • Starts: 1 July 2020
  • Ends: 17 August 2020

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

** conditions apply due to Covid-19 ** we need flexibility and last minute confirmation**

We are a young and easy going family that is searching a trusting, caring and tidy house sitter to take care of our house, garden and animals. It is important for us that you are responsible and that you would treat our property with respect and care as you would your own. We prefer a single person or couple. We prefer no visitors.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

You will be responsible for the garden and the animals (chickens, cat and possibly sheep). Indoors we have many plants. The grass needs mowing every 7-10 days. Our property and animals are easy to manage although need daily care. Recycling is done off site.

What are the good features of the property and location

We live in a quiet town and our house is private. Our village has a convenient store and a climbing wall that has a small restaurant. We are surrounded by walking tracks and host a lookout with panoramic views of the alps. There is even a radio tower at 125m that you can climb to eat fondue. We are 6km to the big grocery shops, 20km to Lausanne and Lake Leman, 40km to the alps and 80km to Geneva.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

There is a bus stop 100m which leaves every 1hr to Lausanne. Public transport isn't abundant in our village but it won't stop you from visiting the rest of Switzerland. You can buy a half price visitors travel card which lasts a month from the train station. If you are driving you will need to buy the Swiss highway pass at the border to gain entry.

Last updated: 15 May 2020
13 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Wonderful housesitting in countryside in Switzerland

I and my boyfriend Petr had a wonderful time in Switzerland and felt like at home at Gianina's and Christian's house. In the beginning, we started our communication with Gianina who answered all our questions and showed us the house and garden during a video call which we really appreciated as we got a good picture about the animals and property. We agreed to arrive three days earlier to go through all the routine and spent just a great time with Gianina, Christian and their kids. They are a lovely family who welcomed us very warmly and hosted us for three days. We became immediate friends with their lovely cat Seline who is the cutest and cuddliest cat we have ever seen. We also took care of a bunch of chickens and a small garden. Gianina and Christian gave us not only good instructions on how to take care of the pets, house and garden but they also introduced us to their neighbours if we had any problem. Also, they gave us a long list of tips on what to see and visit nearby. During their 6 week holidays, they always responded to our questions. We really enjoyed our time in Switzerland and would definitely come back another time! Thank you for everything. :)

Jana & Petr, Czech Republic, 05 September, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions