Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

No pets to look after, Stunning views - What's not to like?!

France, Bussière-Poitevine

Pets

There are no pets to look after

Duration

  • Period available: 8 months, 12 hours
  • Starts: 30 August 2019
  • Ends: 30 April 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I am looking over time to develop my home into a Wellness Centre where we grow our own food according to Permaculture principles, invite friends to run Yoga Retreats etc, look to use as a Learning Centre for Sustainable Living and Wellness so we can do our bit to spread easily achievable good planet-saving practice to people. I want someone to keep the house occupied and maintained over the winter while I am away so that the work we have done to rennovate parts of the house and prepare parts of the land for growing is not lost. Areas are actually rather small at present as no point over-stretching but if someone is keen on the ideas we are looking to promote then they can take on additional tasks which will help.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Maintaining the interior of the house in a clean and tidy state. There is other work which if people have skills then they may wish to look at and we can agree between us what needs to be done. Exterior this is mainly keeping the plants away from the house as, if left, they can start to grow up, and into, the walls again. Maintaining areas of the garden prepared for planting (and covered) and planted weed free while nature does the rest. These areas are small at the moment and shouldn't take much time. Again, if someone is interested in what we are trying to do here and want to help in the development, then we can agree other things that they might like to do while here.

What are the good features of the property and location

Classic French Farmhouse of c170 sqm with an attached and working bread oven (think the biggest pizza oven you have ever seen!) attached in a room on the side. Fully double glazed windows and with a new roof so completely weatherproof. All set inside an acre of land, open views stretching for miles across and along the valley so immensely relaxing to just sit and have a glass or two looking at the views every day. 10 minute walk to the river which also has other access points nearby for safe wild swimming. New bathroom with new hot water system so plenty of hot water for showers, modern wiring, wifi good enough to stream movies in HD so fine for running an on-line business (I do!) Lots of local towns of interest nearby set in, what I consider to be, some of the most beautiful countryside I have ever seen. People have already requested to use this place for yoga retreats, painting retreats, photography courses, to live and write their novel etc and I had a almost a dozen people over this summer who just wanted to stay here while they helped the project get moving - so can't be just me i guess!

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Fully equiped - although not fitted - kitchen. Heating by wood burning stove and gas/electric space heaters as not managed to get the full heating system in yet. Great views and land enough to play in to your hearts content. It is in a hamlet of 10 or fewer properties with maybe 5 occupied year round so you do have a few neighbours to walk around to for immediate company. Nearest village with a shop is 5km away and has a great bakery, butchers, two small supermarkets a post office, a tabac/bar, a pharmacy so it is entirely possible to just live from what you can find here without having to travel further, and use the mountain bikes I have as transport. Nearest big town with lots of shops is 15km away and will probably need to have powered transport if you want to go here regularly, I know where you can get almost new renault cars for as little as 4 euro per day (120 euro per month). There are many other places locally of interest with great small cafes etc which i can detail to you later. I am slowly building the place up to be a wellness centre to produce our own food on permaculture principles and allow friends to run yoga retreats here etc and so would be ideal - but not essential - if someone sitting would be interested in learning more about this and maintaining the property along the lines I would like so the work we have done this summer - in terms of land clearance, planting etc - is kept and I can build on when I get back.

Last updated: 15 August 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.