Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Caring bird and house sitter needed for cuddly dog and for adorable Cockatoo and Cockatiel from October 2nd to October 31st 2023

Luxembourg, Beaufort, Echternach


  • Dog(s)
  • Bird(s)

They like to be spoken to and touched, and love your company. : )


  • Period available: 2 weeks, 4 days
  • Starts: 5 August 2024
  • Ends: 23 August 2024


They have no testimonials


They have WIFI

About this assignment

Hello, we are Claude & Jini, living in Beaufort, Luxembourg. We moved to this house in December 2020, the neighbors are really nice and friendly, most speaking Portuguese, french and luxembourgish. It would be great if the sitter speaks some french or has a rudimentary knowledge of it. Portuguese, or even German is great. You have to be comfortable with birds of course, and like the country life, as the closest big town is about 5 kilometers away.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

1. To feed the birds daily, and clean the cages.
2. Walking Odie, our 10 year old doggy twice a day. One short one in the morning, can be 10 minutes for his morning toilet, and in the afternoon/evening a longer walk. Odie lost his doggy brother in July 2023, and needs more cuddles, and will prefer to sleep in the same room as the sitter. He has never been left alone in the house as he always had Sandy, our other dog as a companion.
3. Making sure that the birds have room temperature that is comfortable.
4. Putting music on during the day if birds are left alone even for a few hours
5. Sitters should be sleeping the nights in the house. ( this is a given as there are pets included in the house sitting).
6.watering the indoor plants.
Thanks for checking out our pet/house sitting site.

What are the good features of the property and location

We are located about 8 minutes walk from the Beaufort castle, we have 6 restaurants, and a café within close walking distance.
The house is a corner house of three built together. We have a patio/ terrasse, with a few small trees and bushes at the back of the house, overlooking a small farm with sheep.
If you don’t drive or do not have a car, there is a grocery store, Delhaize, within 15 minutes walk. Public transport is free, in Luxembourg.
Bus stops are about 3 to 5 minutes walk.
There’s an ice skating rink within walking distance.. open in winter.
Commune swimming pool in summer.
A small discotheque is around the corner from us, and mostly DJ, but also live music is played during weekends.
Perfect area for hikes, there are kilometers of forests and also ponds and small waterfalls on the way.
Grocery store, bakery, pharmacy close by..all within 15 minutes walk.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

we have decided that it’s more reliable to get sitters in countries close to Luxembourg, in case of flight cancellations etc. We will therefore give preference to countries such as France, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, and others close by.
It’s more country life, and is very quiet, especially during winter.
There’s not much night life, and being an avid reader would be a plus point for the evenings. There are trails to walk close by if you like hiking.
There is a popular disco in the next street and is open Fridays and weekends.

Can I bring my own pets?

No, sorry.

Last updated: 9 July 2023
2 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

About this home owner

MindMyHouse member since September 2019