Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Animal, nature loving, house sitter required

Bulgaria, Ovcharovo, Haskovo

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)

4 of our dogs are hunting type dogs so can be quite energetic!

Duration

  • Dates: variable

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Hi we are an English couple, living in the South of Bulgaria for 6yrs now. We live with our 5 horses, 7 rescued dogs and one cat!
We have been renovating our property ourselves and its almost complete now, and we really could do with a break!
We are looking for someone or a couple that can basically over see the care of all our pets so we can get some time out to enjoy life periodically, while we still can! We're not getting any younger! ;-)
We would prefer non smokers, middle age couple retirees or single person that would be able to manage everything alone. I manage alone while my partner is away working, but sometimes it can be demanding with animals, as anyone would know.We would consider short term, but ideally we would prefer someone that would be willing to step in for several weeks, possibly several months, each year, would be beneficial, so animals get to know and trust you. We would like someone that would treat the place with respect as if it was their own home and keep things as they find everything, were not fussy people, the place is 'lived in' but we do expect rooms to be clean as poss they can be, with pets around etc...and own room naturally as its a guest room, to be kept as you would hope to find it.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Responsibility would be basically looking after the place, but caring for pets is the essential part, 7 dogs fed 2x daily, although some are getting old now and not in great health so number could change pretty soon, just to be honest. The cat lives outside so is happy fed there 2x daily she also hunts! The horses are stalled, but can live out in corrals but hay and water needs to be given several times daily and paddocks skipped of droppings, they do like to be in the stalls in bad weather, heavy rain, snow etc, and the summer time here can hit 40 degrees, so they prefer to be stalled in day time and out at night. They are pretty good at letting you know their routine and preferences. Horses also are getting on a bit now, they've no health issues our old girls are 25yrs now, but we still ride them out on trail rides a few times week. The boys also can be ridden, although one has a tendon issue so only hacks out occasionally, gently, and the other 2 are educated in natural horsemanship, and ridden in rope halters so you would need to know this soft feel approach, to be able to work with them, it would be great if you could continue their education this way.

What are the good features of the property and location

The property is at the end of the village, it has vast outback, excellent for walking, cycling, running, photography, riding, fishing lake nearby, its very quiet here the locals are mostly old people now the village hasn't many residents, theres a part time shop, but that's it. there are more shops and cafes in the next 2 villages, also a hotel with spa and winery! Bulgaria is a very undiscovered fascinating place, lots to see and do. We haven't even scratched the surface ourselves yet! But the village is very tranquil and great place to relax and find rediscover yourself!

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

A car is essential for long stays, as nearest town is 12 miles away, but we may consider use of a vehicle while youre here, own insurance and medical cover would be beneficial, for obvious reasons. the horses are our pride and joy and we would expect all their needs to be met dogs cat also, but horses feet would need to be checked and a regular groom also, and mucking out as required. e would try to minimise the chores best we can, but not so it would alter their usual routine or care taking. You would be moving bales of hay & straw from barn to stalls also, this is part of horse management, and filling water buckets, some with bottles of water as hose wont reach off property paddocks.

Last updated: 12 October 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.