Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Large, friendly hound; home in Victorian town

United States, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 5 days
  • Starts: 7 October 2020
  • Ends: 12 October 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

My sister is getting married (within the same state, so not too far), but being part of the wedding party, I'd like to have some help watching our dog that weekend with some flexibility leading up to and after the weekend, if needed.

I'm looking for someone with experience with dogs and maintaining an apartment or home. We are looking for someone 21+ that has lived on their own (not a dorm or student house) and that is comfortable with large dogs. Ideally, we'd like someone who is active (hiking, running, walking, etc) and who is responsible to walk our dog everyday, feed him and give him the time he needs.

We are open to a single person or couple, but no kids/teens please. We'd also prefer no additional pets (Dante gets along well with others, but we've had a few experiences with accidents, others chewing, etc and prefer not to deal with this).

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Walking Dante daily (typically he goes out 3-4 times/day; sometimes he plays at the park for 30 min to run off steam, sometimes we walk for 30-90min, other days we may go for a hike - he will let you know if he's not getting enough exercise).

Feeding Dante twice daily (morning, early evening)

Keeping the house tidy (for longer stays, this would include vacuuming once weekly, washing dishes/kitchen, cleaning bathroom/bedroom, taking trash out, cutting grass and other misc chores).

What are the good features of the property and location

Backed up to the creek, there is a decent sized yard (not fenced in), a garden and a deck that views the yard

Bellefonte in near State College and also offers some restaurants, cideries, distilleries, festivals and other events associated with PSU. It's very family and dog friendly and there are lots of outdoor activities (SUP, hiking, fishing, etc)

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Dante does have some separation anxiety. He cannot be left alone all day and if gone for more than 1hr, he need to be in his kennel (without his dog bed or he'll chew it up). The kennel needs to be pushed so the door is against a wall because he knows how to bite down and open the door. We expect he won't be in his kennel for more than 4-6hrs.

Last updated: 29 November 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.