Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

NB: REVISED ASSIGNMENT DATES - (Beautiful Labrador) Sumi Needs a Sitter this Xmas (house with pool, great location)

Australia, Glen Iris, Victoria

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Our dog, Sumi, is only a new addition for us. She is a "failed" seeing eye dog (only about 1 in 5 dogs make it through the training to become a seeing eye-dog). We have a great handbook that came with her from Seeing Eye Dogs Victoria, that explains ever

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks
  • Starts: 21 December 2019
  • Ends: 4 January 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

About this assignment

NOTE THAT AD HAS BEEN REPUBLISHED AS THERE WAS AN ERROR IN THE ASSIGNMENT DATES.

We need a conscientious and trust-worthy house-sitter that is dog confident and will keep our pooch well cared for and loved while we are away.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

- water the front and back garden 1 - 2 times daily (in the hot weather, we prefer morning and evening but otherwise once is fine).
- collect mail/accept any deliveries.
- keep house clean and tidy (as you find it)
- most importantly: care for our 20 month old Labrador dog! - this includes being a friend to her and providing her with some love and attention, as well as feeding (morning and evening), walking her (about 30 minutes daily), picking up any poop, ensuring she isn't chewing the house up! ...and, in a perfect world, continuing to provide her with some doggy training (but if not, that's fine)

What are the good features of the property and location

The house is in a much sought-after, leafy area of Melbourne with loads of gorgeous parks and shops and restaurants, nearby. We are a 10 minute walk to two separate train stations and the train ride is then 15 minutes into the city centre. We are 5 minutes from two main tram lines into the city. Also, one of the tram lines takes you straight to Prahran/Windsor/South Yarra (about a 10-15 minute ride), where there is great nightlife. We are otherwise walking distance from a terrific gym with great classes, a fabulous community pool/rec centre and a good library.

The house has an awesome back yard, pool and pool house for summer fun. It is a beautiful spot to have a bbq or a wine on the deck. The house is large and well-equipped, with 3 bedrooms, 2 studies and 2 bathrooms, plus large open plan living-dining area, etc. We have central heating and, in our back area, air-conditioning. If there is a succession of really hot days then the house can heat up - if that happens, we have fans for the bedrooms (it takes several really hot days to need them). There is also a lge TV with netflix, wifi, bbq, spotify with sonos speakers, and pretty much anything else you could ever need. :)

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

- The main thing to consider is whether they can handle a really, really enthusiastic and strong Labrador puppy (20 months old). She will knock you down with her enthusiasm and will drag you down the street in excitement if she sees another dog. You need to be sure that you can confidently handle a large and strong dog. However she is never aggressive and is utterly loved up - she'll have your heart by the end of the stay and will follow you around adoringly within a few hours.
- our house is not a show house! We have young kids and the place is in a slightly tired condition. It is spotlessly clean however and very well equipped.

Last updated: 29 October 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.