Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Dog and animal lover needed in a village South of Oxford

United Kingdom, Abingdon, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Chicken(s)
  • Rodent(s)

Lucky - 9 year old Border Collie X, Oreo - 3 year old Springer Spaniel, 3 pet rats - Armitage, Badger and Sleepy, 2 ex battery hens

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks
  • Starts: 19 December 2019
  • Ends: 2 January 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Most importantly is someone who loves dogs and walking. I have a 9 year old Border Collie X, who on the whole behaves very well. He is gorgeous and very sociable, great with kids both young and old, but can be a little nervous around some dogs and cattle/horses. He loves playing fetch (doesn't always bring the ball back though), playing football and chasing bubbles.

We also have a 3 year old Springer Spaniel, who can get over-excited and isn't great on a lead. She loves having someone to play with her and getting lots of attention.

There are also: Three pet rats called Armitage, Badger and Sleepy. 2 ex-battery rescue hens, who are rather spoilt, but very easy to look after and will on occasion lay you an egg for your breakfast.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

To ensure the animals are well looked after and the dogs walked twice daily.
Water the indoor and outdoor plants if and when required

What are the good features of the property and location

We live in small village south of Oxford. Didcot is a 5 minute train ride and Oxford is a 15 minute train ride away. There are lots of beautiful walks in the area, including the Wittenham Clumps, as well as the sights of Oxford. By train you can be in London in about an hour.

There are 3 bedrooms, one with a King size bed, one with a double loft bed and the other has a cabin bed. We also have 2 sofa beds in the sitting room.

We have all the mod cons including microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. There is Superfast broadband and WiFi. There is an open log fire in the sitting room.

We are right next to the playing field were we take the dogs for a quick run around and there are are walks across the fields to the river and nearest pub

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

I am a single mother of three children with 2 dogs and other pets, so the house and garden could do with some TLC. I have been trying to redecorate, but my health has not been brilliant over the past few years and it is very much 2 steps forward, one step back. But I will ensure it is clean and comfortable.

We have a train station in the village, but trains are few and far between, there is no bus service, so you may need a car. Supermarkets and restaurants will deliver :)




Last updated: 23 November 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.