Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Mind our dogs and house in ocean-view paradise

Costa Rica, Barú, Provincia San José

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Marley is 10, moves slowly, and says "I Love You", and Jackson is an energetic 3-year-old. Both are very lovable.

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 1 week
  • Starts: 9 September 2020
  • Ends: 21 October 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We hope to find a reliable couple who will give our boys a lot of love while we're away, appreciate the beautiful surroundings, and take good care of our home.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feed our dogs in the early morning and afternoon
Make coffee for our worker on Monday and Tuesday mornings
Put fruit out on a platform for the birds so you can enjoy them
Pay worker at end of month
Keep eyes open for any problems that might arise and either resolve them or contact us for direction

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is small, but comfortable. The inside of our casita consists of an ample kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. We also have a large, covered outdoor living room and a deck with an outdoor bathtub. The house is situated on 2 1/2 acres, with beautiful mountain and ocean views. Within a five minute walk, there are a Mediterranean cafe, a soda, a weekly organic farmer's market (currently closed due to Covid but offering online ordering with weekly deliveries), a bus stop, and three churches. And within a five minute drive, there is a small grocery store and a hardware store. It's a very safe community where Ticos and Gringos live harmoniously, and it's about a 20-minute drive or bus ride to the beach and about 30 minutes from San Isidro de el General, the largest city in the Southern Zone. We're at about 2,500 feet elevation, and temperatures are almost always in the 70's. We typically get a lot of rain from September through November.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

We have a fenced yard, so our dogs can be left alone for a few hours during the day in case you want to go to the beach, feria, into town, etc. They come inside around dark and sleep on beds in our bedroom, so at least one person needs to be home in the evenings. Our younger dog is addicted to toads, but they typically are only out at night, so we try to keep him inside.

A young lady (shown cooking for us in our kitchen in one of the pictures) lives part time in a separate house on our property. She knows our community well and is a valuable resource,, but she's badly allergic to dogs, so we can't ask her to sleep in our house at night when we go away. We also have Canadian next-door neighbors, and they can help out if you run into problems. We have good 30 meg internet, but we unplug when lightning threatens.

Our worker is here from 7 to 3 on Mondays and Tuesdays and at our neighbor's house on Thursdays . He comes to his bodega which is on our property first to pick up his tools. He has worked on this property for over 20 years, so he doesn't need much direction.

We pay him in cash at the end of each month, and I will leave that with a completed receipt. I pay all of our other bills online and will do that while we're away.

We will most likely drive ourselves up to SJO and leave our car there while we are away. So if you have a car, that would be ideal, but there is a bus service to the Dominical and Uvita as well as to San Isidro de el General.

Our house is well-suited for a single or couple but not really for small children. There is a separate guest studio just across a breezeway from our casita, so an older child could stay in that.

Last updated: 30 June 2020
10 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.