Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

A Loving French Experience

France, Pouydraguin, Metropolitan France

Pets

  • Dog(s)

We hand feed them.

Duration

  • Period available: 3 months, 4 weeks
  • Starts: 1 February 2022
  • Ends: 1 June 2022

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Responsible, person (or couple) who LOVES dogs and will care for our family ofi sweet Cavalier King Charles Spaniels like they are your own kids while we are away..

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

This is anticipated as a longer term assignment wherein we'll be home most of the time but you'll have your own private residence adjacent to our house.
The sitter's responsibility when we are away is feeding, grooming and cocooning with the dogs and taking care of the house and garden. These pedigree "children" are as affectionate as they are beautiful.
We have two fenced gardens, so the dogs don't require walks on leads. They do require daily grooming (combing) to prevent tangles in their coats.
The home sitters will enjoy their own large, private one-bedroom Gite (guesthouse) with a full kitchen, TV room, huge sitting room with wood burning fireplace and private bathroom. The gite has high speed internet suitable for working, satellite TV and a Home Theatre. You'll be responsible for your own food while here.
When we're at home, we require 3 half-days of help with the house, garden and dogs (15 hours a week). The other time and weekends are yours to enjoy.
When we're away for only a week or a day here and there at different times, food for the dogs will be prepared and frozen. When you are alone with the dogs,you may leave the house for short outings 1 -2 hours a couple of times a week.
The dogs are used to sleeping in in a king-size bed with their human mother, so when we are away they'll expect to do the same with their sitter(s).. Only two snore.

What are the good features of the property and location

We have a large Gascon Farmhouse with attached guesthouse (Gite) 7 minutes by car to the market town of Plaisance du Gers . We are located on a ridge in the area of Pouydraguin, postale code 32290 (literally "Dragon on the Hill") in the amazingly verdant, rolling hills of the Gers (also known as Gascony). This is the foodie capital of France where duck, Armagnac, beef, vegetables, Basque cuisine and great wines abound. There is a weekly market in Plaisance and most nearby villages. Plaisance is a full-service town with doctors, pharmacy, dentists, restaurants, bank, post office, supermarket and stores. The French people in the Gers are very friendly toward outsiders and most speak some English. There is also a large "expat" community from all over the world living here due to the wonderful scenery and French lifestyle. Our home is spacious and comfortable with 7 bedrooms, three bathrooms, 2 full kitchens, a summer kitchen, and two outdoor patios with barbecues. Additionally, there is a huge potager (vegetable garden) you are welcome to share.The views and serenity are perfect for relaxing and creative pursuits.
There is not public transport so you will need to go to town with us in our car or have your own transportation. Our community is great for cycling, walking and running. Tennis, swimming and fishing are nearby.We are 1 hour from Tarbes where there is a train station that connects to locations all over France, Spain and Europe, and two hours from Toulouse. The stunning town of Marciac that hosts the world renoun Jazz Festival every summer for 6 weeks is 15 minutes. The region is punctuated by wonderful bastide villages, vineyards, chateaux, and other agricultural activities as well as outdoor recreation. Most of he picturesque villages have weekly markets and summer festivals.
We are a well-travelled retired professional couple of Canadian/ American citizenship. We''ve resided in France for 12 years.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The dogs are the sitter's priority and require you to be with them 95% of the time when we are away. If we are here, then help with the garden and house is appreciated. The furbabies are wonderful, loving companions but there are 7 of them. They will be around you all the time when we are away. So bottom line, this sitting opportunity is specifically for dog lovers. I have written 4 books on Cavaliers, which gives you an idea of how precious these dogs are to us. They are a young, healthy pack ranging in age from 1.5 years to 5 years old and as of this writing only one requires medicine. I bred half of them but now all the girls are neutered except for the youngest and we will not leave during her heat.

Last updated: 29 November 2021
4 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

An unforgettable house sit

I stayed with Mary and Ken for nearly 6 months and from day one I felt like I was a part of the family. The dogs were an absolute treat to be with. They immediately grew attached to me and I just as quickly fell in love with them. All the dogs got along very well. Mary is an expert on all things Cavaliers King Charles Spaniel and this clearly shows in how well maintained and loved all of them are. All of this made the pack of 7 easy to maintain and care for. The house has a beautiful view on the Pyrenees mountains and the town of Pouydraguin was always nice and quiet with plenty of opportunities for walks, cycling or a drive around the many hillside roads. This was everything I wished for in a house sit. A beautiful home, fantastic location, caring and friendly hosts and the sweetest pack of 7 dogs all made for a perfect house sit. Thank you for showing me around and spoiling me with your hospitality.

Adhemar, Belgium, 10 May, 2021

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions