Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

2 dogs in Niagara Falls - Feb 2023

United States, Niagara Falls, New York

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 4 weeks, 1 day
  • Starts: 10 February 2023
  • Ends: 11 March 2023

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

UPDATE: My travel plans for postponed for 2022 and pushed back to 2023 because of COVID. Just wanted to keep this listing up so I don't lose my interested babysitters.

Hi. I'm Cory. I have two boys (dogs) who are my babies and my world. I often say I don't know what I would do without them...especially during COVID as they kept me laughing at their antics and busy as we decided to explore as much of the outdoors as we could - we visited a lot of new-to-us parks and forests. They come on all non-flying vacations with me because why not?

I'm looking for someone to love on them as I do while I’m off exploring Antarctica for one month. Enjoy the house as your own. Explore the local area!

Trying this out as a home owner for the first time. I have been a house/dog/cat sitter in the past for 1 month in Qatar and I loved it. I think I did a good job and loved the opportunity to explore Qatar while having a free place to stay for one month.

No smoking in the house. I don’t care if you do outside - you can make friends with my neighbor who smokes on her front porch.

And just a little about me - like you care, because obviously you're an animal rather than a people person, much like me! I am most proud that I served in Peace Corps Ghana from 2012-2015 in a very remote Muslim village 18 miles from the Burkina Faso border. While there I got to travel a bit around Africa, but not nearly enough. Following my service, I traveled throughout the Middle East which is how I ended up housesitting in Qatar. I love to travel and have visited over 50 different countries. I've hiked Patagonia, summitted Kilimanjaro, run a marathon on the Great Wall of China, camped in the Egyptian desert, volunteered at an elephant sanctuary in Thailand, backpacked around Australia and New Zealand, etc. I love learning the culture of the people and places I go rather than just hitting up the tourist attractions or Instagram spots (boring). I just love to keep learning and exploring. Antarctica will finally be my 7th continent!

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Taking care of the dogs - feed, water, pick up poo; possible walks or merely letting them romp in the fenced in backyard.

Kilian is the black German Shepherd, age 6, who has always had mild anxiety and can’t be boarded or kenneled so we always get a sitter now. He shows his love by playing ball with you - all day, every day.

Louis (pronounced “looey” in the French way) is a 2 year old Berger Picard or French Shepherd. Interesting fact that this breed almost went extinct in WWII from all the bombing in the Picardy region of France. This is also the dog featured in the movie Because of Winn Dixie. He shows his love by snuggling on you, sitting on your lap and giving kisses.

Both dogs are pretty low key and easy to care for once you get over how much energy they have. Essentially all they want to do is be with you - how easy is that?

They get fed 3x per day and food gets delivered for them every 2 weeks. Clean water daily and lots of love. Easy peasy!!

General cleaning while your here: vacuum, mop - do your laundry and dishes. Make sure everything is functioning as it should especially as it is winter - although furnace and sump pump are new so shouldn't be any major problems.

What are the good features of the property and location

3 bedroom lovingly cared for cape (mostly my own DIY touches) within walking distance of Historic Lewiston with lots of restaurants and shops, including grocery and pharmacy. Friendly neighborhood. And because it’s winter, a garage! 7 miles from Niagara Falls and Fort Niagara. Lots of state parks nearby. Canadian border is less than 10 minutes away (if open due to COVID); Buffalo is 30 minutes away.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

It’s Buffalo, NY in winter (Feb 2023): sometimes it’s cold and snowy and sometimes it’s wet and muddy and sometimes it’s summer for a day or two followed by an ice storm! Seriously! We say here Don’t like the weather? Wait a few hours! I love all the seasons up here and walk the dogs in all weather - you just have to dress for it and you’re fine! Despite the cold and possible snow, there’s still plenty to do in the area with wineries, breweries, Buffalo waterfront, Niagara Falls, shops and restaurants, skiing and snowshoeing….

P.S. I am fully vaccinated for COVID - 19. Dogs have their recommended various vaccinations as well. Haha

Last updated: 4 August 2021
23 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.