Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Enjoy the beautiful Worcestershire/Herefordshire/South Shropshire countryside

United Kingdom, Tenbury Wells, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Phoebe, 11 year old Patterdale Terrier and Tucker, 11+ year old Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks, 6 days
  • Starts: 25 March 2019
  • Ends: 14 April 2019

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We need a reliable, honest, housesitting couple, who are experienced in looking after and walking two medium sized, but energetic, dogs. You must have an appreciation of the countryside and not leave the dogs for more than 5 hours a day.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

We have two dogs. Phoebe is an 11 year old Patterdale Terrier who is cheeky and full of fun. She loves long walks, but cannot be off lead, as she has selective hearing when it comes to recall, and the pursuit of rabbits and squirrels hold much more interest than any human could (even one with sausages and chicken, believe it or not). We also have a permanent foster dog, who is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier, called Tucker. He is absolutely fantastic on recall, hates the car, and enjoys long walks. He has one 'bionic' titanium knee, so although he loves his ball and frisbee, he can no longer be allowed to overdo the exercise for fear of sudden movements threatening the stability of his good knee. He is incredibly enthusiastic in everything he does, but mature and calm environments are better for him. He can get very anxious if he is left too long, and can destroy a kitchen wall in no time by licking it to death. If you have ever feared the breed, Tucker will change your mind and you will be a convert. You can see more of Tucker and Phoebe on Tucker's facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/AHomeForTucker

What are the good features of the property and location

We are in a beautiful rural location, two miles from the town of Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire and 8 miles from Ludlow. We border Herefordshire and Shropshire, so the area all around is quite stunning. There are lots of fabulous places to visit if you like the open countryside and gardens, do lots of walking and like to visit great pubs. The surrounding towns and villages are very quaint, and if you like the cities, you can also get to Hereford, Worcester, and Kidderminster within 40 minutes by car. Birmingham is 40 miles away, but why on earth would you even want to go there?

You will need your own transport, as public transport is appalling in Tenbury, and the nearest railway station is 12 miles away.

If you just want to relax, our home is comfortable and perfect for kicking back and chilling.

Our house is quite 'high tech', so you will need to not be frightened by technology! Luddites need not apply!

There is a fully equipped gym if you like to keep fit (although the dogs will do that for you quite easily!). We have wifi broadband (rural, so no fibre, sadly), and half decent mobile signal with most providers.

The kitchen is very expansive, so if you like cooking, you're in for a treat. Tenbury has great local produce, so you will eat well. If you like dining out, we can recommend lots of great pubs and restaurants in a 15 mile radius and you won't be disappointed. We even have a fantastic lakeside restaurant just 800 steps away (could be more steps if you've enjoyed the local Robinson's cider or Chase's gin a little too much!)

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Our dogs' welfare is paramount. They must have at least one country walk of about an hour minimum a day, and plenty of supervised garden exercise. We have beautiful countryside right on our doorstep, so it will be a pleasure, not a burden!

The start date of the assignment is the day before we depart, as I would like you to get used to our dog routine before we leave, and get familiar with the house. .

Last updated: 14 January 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.