Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

February 10 days = A Little Idyll In The Scottish Borders

United Kingdom, Scotland, Scotland

Pets

  • Cat(s)

1 x cats 18 yrs old

Duration

  • Period available: 1 week, 2 days
  • Starts: 4 February 2023
  • Ends: 13 February 2023

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Someone or a couple who loves and appreciates the countryside and an elderly cat.

Be responsible, respect our property and belongings, keep in touch if necessary and relax and enjoy the area.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Keeping our house in good order IE clean and tidy, as you have found it on your arrival. Look after our elderly cat, feeding twice a day, cat cuddles, cleaning cat litter tray as she's now an indoor cat due to being deaf and not being familiar with her new outdoor surroundings. Take to our local vet if necessary, having consulted us first. Give her a lap and love.

We have a growing nursery of seedlings and plants in 2 small greenhouses and a young organic vegetable garden. You will be required to water plants as instructed by Kev, but this'll be minimal in the winter months, airing the greenhouses if needed.

What are the good features of the property and location

We are in a great location in the countryside at the end of a private countryside estate. Nice and quiet, walks from the door or from local nearby beauty spots, Southern upland way trails. Lots of birds singing in the garden, the river Leader boarders our land which is peaceful and great for wildlife spotting.

Easy access by car to market towns within 5 to 15 miles, where you'll find local shops, traditional bakers, butchers and grocer shops, larger supermarket chains, banks, post office, chemist / pharmacy.

Buses can be hailed from the main road at the top of the estate to Edinburgh and market towns.

Trains run from Tweedbank (7 miles from us, free parking at train station) to Edinburgh Waverley (approx 1hr journey time).

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Our property is an old stone cottage on two floors. Upstairs we have 2 bedrooms, one of which is for our house sitters use. Downstairs is our bathroom, sunroom' with a large window in front of our dining table which looks out to the garden, living room with sofas, kitchen. We do not have a TV, but we have lots of books and Wifi for internet.

Private parking for one car only. We are 1.5 miles from Earlston, a handful of other market towns are 5 miles to 15 miles from us. You will need your own transport.

Last updated: 24 November 2022
2 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

House and cat sitting

We met Becks & Kev after being given great directions to get to their home on a country estate on the borders of Scotland. We arrived the day before the housesit, they showed us around their beautiful garden and house and we had a lovely dinner. Kev & Becks are lovely, friendly people and the house is is a great location. The garden is amazing and easy to water. Zinzin the cat is a joy to look after, she is old and deaf but such a lovely cat. Kev gave us information on the surrounding area and left some maps for us to use We miss being there already and hope to go back.

Susan, United Kingdom, 27 June, 2022

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions