Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Two sibling cats in the penthouse hammock

Spain, Valencia, Valencian Community

Pets

  • Cat(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 1 week
  • Starts: 15 July 2022
  • Ends: 27 August 2022

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Come and enjoy the dazzling Valencian light of our penthouse and the two most affectionate cats in the city. We are looking for an strictly non-smoking, very clean and tidy person to look after two young sibling cats and our house while we're on holidays. Kind animal-lover, responsible and trustworthy is required.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

The most important things to us are that the animals. As cats, they are fairly low maintenance although they need feeding, fresh watering and cleaning out the 2 litter trays every single day. They are very loving animals and will follow you for attention and would appreciate if they could sleep with you (don’t worry we have a king size bed) and we need you to be there every night and a good share of the daylight (there is plenty in summer in here). As they are still quite young they need supervised access to the terraces, and no access at all at night or while caretakers are out of the house. This is the main reason why we need carers otherwise our kittens do not have access to the terraces which is their (and ours) favourite playground and place of the house.
The penthouse itself does not require much up keep at all, basically that is enjoyed and cared for responsibly and kept clean and tidy. Terraces have plenty of plants with automatic watering system, basically you just need to keep an eye that is correctly performing and otherwise inform us. As caretakers will be logde in the main ensuit bedroom we need that linen is fresh and clean when we'll back home.
According to the normal climatological values of Valencia, officially declared by the State Meteorological Agency (http://www.aemet.es/) in July the usual temperature in Valencia is 25.6°C, with minimum maximums of 21.5°C to 29.7°C, an average relative humidity of 67% and 314 hours of sunshine per month mean. In August the values are very similar: 26.1°C as standard, ranging between 21.9°C and 30.2°C, with 68% relative humidity and 288 hours of sunshine per month.
It is important for the house sitter to be aware that although the house is architecturally very well designed and insulated, since it is an attic, the heat will be noticeable. The house has opposite windows that facilitate drafts, blinds, awnings and air conditioning. It is important to have an explicit commitment to the proper use of these mechanisms in order to reduce the use of air conditioning to the minimum necessary, so as not to skyrocket the electricity bill. The hosts expect to assume the average consumption in MW, but the house sitter is expected to assume the costs that exceed these consumptions.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our penthouse has two lovely terraces opposite oriented that allows enjoy sun and breeze throughout the day and a lovely urban sunset. There is a hammock and furniture to eat and dine outside. Inside the house there is a ensuite bedroom, a desk equipped to work from home (table, office chair, screen, high-speed Wi-Fi...) and a comfortable and modern kitchen and living room. It is centrally located, you would be 15 minutes on foot to town hall square.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

We are looking forward to your detailed email saying why this house sitting assignment is for you. You must be non-smoker(s), have references and bring no pets of your own. At this point our dates are not fixed so potentially could vary minimally. Then we would like to meet online before finalizing the arrangement. We are a well-travelled couple and have been caretakers ourselves before. We would like to start and establish a new lasting relation based in trust and mutual support. Address your email to May and Kike (the humans) and Kaleo and Rufus (the cats).

Last updated: 2 May 2022
16 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

A wonderful experience in Valencia

May and Kike were really amazing, they invited me for a dinner to get to know each other better, and to get to know the place and above all, Rufus and Kaleo - two young cats, probably the most cuddly cats I have ever taken care of - they are simply amazing! May and Kike are a very kind couple, we talked a lot about their traveling experience and I had a lot in common in regards to environmental consciousness, afinity in gardening, animals and traveling.And their apartment is a real jewel with 2 terazzes, a nice neat place full of great books and memories from their travels. AND JACCUZZY! :D It was one of the best experiences and I am glad I can repeat it thanks to living closeby! Thank you May and Kike.

Veronika, Spain, 22 April, 2022

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions