Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Herbal farm in Southern France

France, Au Bois Bedat, Metropolitan France


  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)


  • Period available: 6 days
  • Starts: 6 August 2023
  • Ends: 12 August 2023


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

About this assignment

We are looking for an open minded, responsable person who likes nature and a calm environment. It's a good place to read, chill out, make music.....

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

The housesitter will have to feed our cat, water the vegetable garden, water the young plants and may harvest some vegetables. There is about one hour of work a day.

What are the good features of the property and location

We live on a very nice, calm and isolated small herbal farm. ( 3km from the next village and 17km from the next town), at the margin of an oakforest. There are several hiking trails in the area. The housesitters can use our bikes.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

We live almost without any electricity, we only have a point ( socket) to charge our phones and a computer. To have warm water for the shower we have a boiler which turns with wood and our toilet is a composting toilet, in a small " caban " 10 meters away from the house. We don' t have any electric light.
We don't have WIFI but there's a good contact for Internet.

Last updated: 12 May 2023
15 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map


Off-grid housesit

We have had a wonderful time looking after this beautiful family's homestead, vegetable plot and animals. Off grid, so no electricity besides a point to charge your phone, no fridge, an outhouse with dry toilet, no WiFi (but great 4G reception), water from a well, back to nature, beautiful views and the quietness of rural France. For us it was very inspiring to be here. It opened our eyes and gave us ideas how we can live a life with only the smallest ecological footprint. We received detailed instructions and video's from Lotti before the sit. The sheep, donkey and cat are easy to look after and very friendly. Ali, the donkey, definitely stole our heart. We don't think this house sit is for the fainthearted. It suits adventurous, nature loving, fit people who are interested in or have experience with off-grid life. Also, we hope future sitters realize that this place is more than a house, some animals and a veggie plot. It's this family's livelihood, so it should be treated with the utmost care. Dear family, it was such a pleasure to meet you and thank you for trusting us and thank you for the lovely gifts that we received from you. Take care! The warmest regards from Vic and Ing

Ingrid, France, 15 August, 2022

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions