Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Provence French Riviera, dog in a house in the Var forest

France, Seillans, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur


  • Dog(s)

Teddy is a loving dog! He doesn’t like other dogs so while having a walk in the forest, better keep him close to you otherwise at home he is asking for lots of cuddles despite the size (he is not a tiny little dog :) but he likes to stay at home and close


  • Period available: 1 day
  • Starts: 24 August 2023
  • Ends: 25 August 2023


They have 1 testimonial (view below)


They have WIFI

About this assignment

THE JAN/FEB 23 opportunity is no longer available- thx to all of you

JULY & AUGUST 2023 is booked- thx

Someone who would like to enjoy the south of France but to look after the house while we travel in summer 2023 and can’t have our dog with us on that trip. Someone clean and calm, watching the house and the security around the house. No smoking in the house

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Look after our dog Teddy, and enjoy the property with a minimum gardening (8000sqm)
Feeding the dog and cuddling !!
Look after mail and general care.

What are the good features of the property and location

House in the forest of the Var region on the French Riviera, near Lake St Cassien, 30 km from the sea, 40 min from Cannes or Saint Tropez. Nice Coté d’Azur Airport 50 min drive - But in a nice little Provençal village.
Pool, Yoga House with massage table, Pétanque area, patio…

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

You love dogs and be kind with Teddy. You might need to have a car as we live in the forest 2 km away from the village.
You should respect the silence of nature as all our neighbors are also into the silence of the nature.
You can swim in the pool but we don’t heat it in winter
There is video for security around the house.
You have a car …
Probably not ideal for a woman alone as it is remote in the forest

Last updated: 5 December 2022
45 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map


I wish we could stay longer

Jo & I had the pleasure of looking after Sylvain & Branko's much loved 5 year old fur baby Teddy. It was a long term sit over 2 months and we enjoyed every single minute of our stay. The house is located at the end of a valley, private and relaxing and only 40 mins to Cannes. It is only a short drive into Seillans to get groceries and other essentials, or a 15 min drive to larger shopping areas and groceries. The house is on a couple of beautiful acres, so Teddy has plenty of room to roam, and there are heaps of beautiful walking tracks a short drive away. We fell in love with Teddy, he is almost human and is extremely affectionate when he gets to know you...which did not take long. He loves long walks, loves to go in the car and very happy on road trips. We took him away for a few nights on 2 occasions with us staying in Airbnb's and he was no trouble. The one thing about Teddy is he does not particularly like other dogs, and can be quite aggressive towards them, so best to avoid interaction if possible. He is a strong dog, so you must be good at handling dogs of his size, and understand his nature, as well as being very aware of your saying that, we did venture into situations with him that tested him, and his behaviour definitely got better over time......he is a rescue dog, so can only assume he had a bit of a rough time growing up. He has the most beautiful nature and kindness with humans, other dogs not so much!! Jo & I miss him so much, and really had a close bond with him at the end of our stay, we both shed some tears when it came to say goodbye. He truly is a beautiful soul and very unique. We miss him so much. Both Sylvain & Branko were very accommodating, and communicated with us regularly, helping us out with any issues, or co-ordinating tradesmen if required. They are so kind and helpful and we have life long friends out of this one assignment, and will treasure our amazing time looking after Teddy and their property for many years to come....we can't wait to come back.

Ian, Australia, 12 March, 2023

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions