Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

5 Acre Property with Dogs and Poultry

United States, Vanderwagen, New Mexico

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Chicken(s)

Three indoor dogs and a flock of poultry

Duration

  • Period available: 6 months, 2 weeks
  • Starts: 27 October 2019
  • Ends: 15 May 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I am looking for a reliable, caring pet-lover who can also look after houseplants and the garden. The garden (when planted) is watered by timed irrigation and only needs checking periodically to see that it is working, but the dogs and poultry need food and water more regularly.
I also feed a large local population of hummingbirds, and the feeders need to be filled every few days in summer.
Our house is somewhat isolated, so you need to enjoy the quiet and out-of-doors. The dogs have a dog door and can come and go as they please, but they love human company on their walks.

We are home much of the time, and need these duties performed only while we are away. When we are home, the house sitter will live in an 18-foot camper. There is an additional bathroom building with full shower, toilet, and sink, just a few steps away.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feed and water three dogs and a flock of chickens, geese, and turkeys .Collect eggs from laying hens (and eat them if you like!)
Fill hummingbird feeders and make more nectar as needed
Water houseplants
Check on garden irrigation (in summer)
Again, ONLY when we are away. Most of the time the sitter will be able to do as he or she likes, including explore the local area.

We heat our house with a wood stove in winter. The sitter will need to be comfortable using the stove, but it is easy to learn. Firewood is usually plentiful, but the sitter needs to be able to carry it into the house. He or she can also split wood if they are comfortable doing so.

What are the good features of the property and location

We live on five acres, but the nearest neighbor is 1/2 mile away, so you will have plenty of space to enjoy.
The sunsets in the evening can be quite stunning, and the mostly clear skies also afford great views of the stars and Milky Way at night.
We have three dogs who love a good walk, and the area is a bit hilly so you can have a good hike anytime.
In the house, we have satellite wireless internet and satellite television with premium channels, as well as PS3, PS4, Wii, and Nintendo 64 game systems. The trailer doesn't have television or internet; if you'd like to stay long-term and you want either one, you will need to make those arrangements yourself.
We are close to Gallup, New Mexico. This area provides quite a few cultural experiences. Many of our neighbors are Navajo, and during the summer there are nightly Indian Dances in Gallup. The Grand Canyon is a 4-hour drive away and there are many other beautiful places in the Southwest within driving distance.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

We provide a comfortable camper with basic utilities for long-term stay, with access to laundry machines in the house. When we travel away, the sitter can stay in the house to be company for the dogs.

Most of the time, if we're home, there are no duties to perform - we have found that having someone here long term makes it easier for us to be able to get away. I may also be taking some employment that will require me to be away for weeks and/or months at a time.

The house is remote and the driveway can be sketchy in bad weather (the mud gets quite bad during periods of heavy rain). A 4x4 vehicle with high clearance is a must at these times.

We are a non-smoking household, but guests can smoke outside.

Last updated: 18 September 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.