Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

My Rural Greek Cat sit-pollés gátes ?!

Greece, Eresos

Pets

  • Cat(s)

I have 22+! Some visit just to get some food. Everyone else is a rescue cat from the village.

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks, 2 days
  • Starts: 16 September 2024
  • Ends: 2 October 2024

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I am looking for someone responsible, flexible, honest, compassionate and EXPERIENCED (please!) in animal care, with lots of energy who thinks he/she , maybe with a partner, would be happy to stay in a rural village at the south-western side of the island of Lesvos, Greece for 10 days or so with a tribe of cats to keep, around October time.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feeding, cleaning up after, and caring for 22+ cats between 2 months old and 9 years - but mostly 1-3 year old spayed rescue cats. Food is to be dished out twice a day in separate dishes which are all washed after each meal; water bowls are replenished at least twice daily as well as a general sweep of the kitchen floor, vacuuming/ brushing hairs off blankets and seat covers; changing and washing dirty blankets and cleaning up after accidents and territory marking (!); mopping of the downstairs rooms and watering the plants outdoors in the yard as well as keeping the yard clean by sweeping and hosing down. Checking the cats eat daily, all are present; ear checking and cleaning if necessary as well as deworming if needed. There are 3 litter toilets to be emptied of faeces and topped up if necessary; rubbish to bag and take to the various collection sites nearby.

What are the good features of the property and location

I live in a spacious house with 2 floors with a large terrace and yard. There is Wi-Fi and a large screen TV you can plug your internet device into. Apart from a large kitchen on the ground floor, looking out onto the yard, there is a fair- sized bathroom with huge shower and a washing machine. There is a modest lounge and also an office / 3rd bedroom. The 2 other bedrooms are up a flight of stairs, on opposite sides of a larger- than-average landing area.
The village square is only 2 minutes on foot. All amenities are to be found here: the post office, ATM, dentist, baker's, butcher's, greengrocer's, minimarkets and restaurants. The beach village- Skala Eresou- is 4km down the hill with all its shops and restaurants, the marina and, of course, long sandy beach!. The nearest town with large supermarkets and veterinary help is an hour's drive in Kalloni.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Please think about how well you could take on a large group of cats. At this stage of their lives, most are sterilized, vaccinated and independent. The youngest is 3 months and needs more supervision, I bring in 5 of the youngest kittens into my part of house at night for a stress free sleep and cuddles!
There is a cat flap so the others can come and go as they please into the kitchen area which has an adjoining internal door so easy to manage. There are a number of neighbours to contact who can help out in case needed. I have the number of a vet to text for advice, and my landlord is very prompt and can arrive within minutes if any maintenance issues arise.
How confident are you that you can ensure each cat gets food daily and could you check a list of photos and see who turns up at meal times? Are you someone who has lots of energy and is pretty vigilant?
You can close the bedroom door and sleep cat -free, or sleep with the door open but the windows need to be closed as kittens like to climb and jump!
Leisure time is between breakfast and dinner and could be spent visiting the beach village by hire bicycle, hire scooter or car/ taxi, even walking - 50 minutes! - ish, chilling on the beach, walking in the hills, visiting various restaurants to try out their fare. Or just enjoying the peaceful hill village square and lanes. It is a quiet village.

Can I bring my own pets?

No, sorry.

Last updated: 28 May 2024
No sitters have applied for this assignment yet. Be the first!

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

About this home owner

MindMyHouse member since September 2023