Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Horse and home sitting in South West France

France, Saint-Clair, Castelsarrasin, Metropolitan France

Pets

  • Horse/Donkey(s)
  • Chicken(s)

5

Duration

  • Period available: 1 week
  • Starts: 27 August 2024
  • Ends: 3 September 2024

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We need an experienced person or couple to look after 5 horses whilst we are away End of August for one week/10 days 2024.
We would like you to arrive a couple of days before we leave to show you the ropes. You are also welcome to stay on a bit longer. We have guest accommodation available.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

We need someone to Feed 5 horses. A bit of brushing if you like and the obligatory poo picking daily. Checking they have water. Making sure there are no problems with them or the fence lines.One horse needs some cream applying to his face.The horses are trained with natural horsemanship methods and positive reinforcement. You need to be comfortable actually catching and handing horses. Feeding a few chickens.

What are the good features of the property and location

Old stone house with all facilities. Wood fires if needed. Bungalow with 2 bedroom also available as well.
Quiet but 10 minutes drive to nearest town. 3 mins drive or 40 mins walk to nearest bakery, café, post office etc. Lovely countryside, no very near neighbours but not completely isolated.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Experience of HANDLING horses. None of the horses are difficult and have been trained using natural horsemanship methods. If you go to Youtube and search "doctorhoof" you will see some videos of them. Howard is a barefoot trimmer and anyone interested in this approach would be more than welcome to observe and learn.

Can I bring my own pets?

Yes
Restrictions: Dogs and cats

Last updated: 28 April 2024
2 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

A wonderful peaceful home with friendly animals

I stayed at Polly and Howards property for just about two weeks and had a great time! They live on a quiet piece of land in a beautiful area of France. There is a separate home which you will have to yourself. All the animals are friendly and very well trained. Polly and Howard's are extremely kind and accommodating and I can't recommend them enoug! You'd be lucky to get to spend some time there.

Caitlin, 31 July, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

About this home owner

MindMyHouse member since August 2013