Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Two loving and energetic dogs near UNESCO city of Evora needing an equally loving and energetic couple to take care of them for two weeks in Sept/Oct 2024

Portugal, Évora, Évora

Pets

  • Dog(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks
  • Starts: 15 September 2024
  • Ends: 29 September 2024

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

About this assignment

Rescued from the pound, Salsa and Ziggy both adore human company and are totally non-aggressive around people. Ziggy needs lots of scratches behind the ears, while Salsa needs cuddles! They can be quite noisy and excited around walk time, but are otherwise generally pretty calm and always extremely affectionate.
As a pointer, Salsa needs to be able to do lots of sniffing on walks and is also quite 'tuggy'. Ziggy is usually extremely laid back on the leash, but can go ballistic if they spot a rabbit (which is not uncommon around here).
We generally walk in the countryside, although both dogs also love walking around town and are usually pretty excitable when we do.
I would therefore prefer a reasonably fit and strong couple, who can handle excited dogs and understand that walks for the dogs are about exploring as much as about exercise.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Walk the dogs a minimum of 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour at the end of the day (I personally look to walk them 12km a day, but I don't expect you to do that much). I will show you several really lovely walks in the area. During the day, you are pretty much free to do as you like - there's piles to see and do within a couple of hours drive!
I also have 3 goats, but they really need minimal care.
If you enjoy gardening and handiwork, that's a plus, as there's always stuff to be done!

What are the good features of the property and location

The property is located in Redondo, the Alentejo, about 35km from Evora, an ideal spot for those who like the quiet country life but also enjoy exploring pretty white-washed villages, old castle towns and some of Portugal's most beautiful scenery.
The property has a shallow pool to soak in, an elevated veranda with lovely views over the vineyards and mountains in the distance to enjoy during dinner, and you are very welcome to help yourselves to any fruit and vegetables in the garden!
The neighbours are all super friendly and always willing to help out with any problems, although they don't speak English. My brother also lives nearby, so you have an English-speaking point of contact in an emergency.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

I do NOT have wifi, so you need to have some kind of mobile wifi plan. You will also need to have your own vehicle.
Also, although by the time you get here the worst of the summer heat will hopefully be over, we are in the warmest part of Portugal, so you need to be comfortable with potentially hot weather.
Please note that the exact dates for this assignment have yet to be confirmed, but they will be for about two weeks in late September-early October. I will endeavour to confirm the exact dates as soon as possible.
Finally, if I feel you are a good match, I will invite you to come over for a couple of days (you would have to pay for your flights, with the rest of the costs while here on me) beforehand to see things for yourselves and if you really want to take on this assignment.

Last updated: 11 February 2024
2 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

About this home owner

MindMyHouse member since February 2024