Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

House sitters required in central Portugal

Portugal, , Leiria


  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)
  • Chicken(s)

2 horses, 2 dogs, 4 cats, 4 chickens


  • Period available: 1 month, 5 days
  • Starts: 25 September 2020
  • Ends: 31 October 2020


They have 2 testimonial s (view below)


They have WIFI

About this assignment

I am looking for people who are able to look after my 2 dogs, 4 cats, 2 horses, and 4 chickens. One of the horses is a sensible lady and easy to handle. The other is younger, and can be a bit naughty at times, so she needs someone who is confident and capable around horses. I have booked my travel and Need someone for about six weeks in total.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feeding and mucking out and turning out/bringing in changing rugs etc of the two horses, and checking the fences around the fields. Feeding and exercising our two dogs; both mixed breeds. Feeding the cats and chickens.

There is a new vegetable garden under construction, so watering and a little weeding might be necessary, you are welcome to eat anything that is ready...

Basic cleaning in the house, watering the pot plants on the terrace and keeping the swimming pool topped up and basic pool care, such as checking chlorine and Ph levels, and topping up the chemicals if necessary. Rescuing the toads which seem to like falling in overnight and cleaning the pool once a week. Its very easy. The garden around the house is a work in progress too, so will not need much attention.

What are the good features of the property and location

The house is a modern 3 bedroomed property, with a large kitchen and a covered outside terrace with seating and dining areas along with a built in BBQ. The accommodation is all on one level with the garage and storage below in the basement.

Outside there is about 2 hectares, mostly divided into paddocks for the horses, with easy access to hose pipes for filling buckets.

My home on the edge of a village which contains a small shop and cafe within walking distance. The village is between 2 towns each about 6km away, where there are markets, supermarkets, chemists etc. and perfectly adequate for all requirements.

In the local area there are lakes and river beaches within easy reach and the city of Coimbra is about 45 minutes away with lots to see and do especially around the university. The World Heritage site at Tomar, the Convento do Cristo is half an hour away.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

There is little or no public transport here, I do have a vehicle that you can use as long as you are over 30 (insurance) , but if you are not from an EU country you may need to arrange an international driving permit. The area is quiet and rural, most of the people who live locally have small holdings, and are older and do not speak English. Although there are an increasing number of foreign residents they are widely spread, so sitters would need to be independent and prepared to learn a bit of Portuguese! The neighbours will be very interested in you, but they are friendly and helpful.

Last updated: 21 April 2020
19 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map


Fantastic experience.

I feel tempted to leave a bad review so no other person would want to housesit for them and I could keep them for myself. I had such a nice time housesitting for Joanna and Rick! I spent just a little time with them at both ends of the assignment, and they made me feel very comfortable and welcome. They introduced me to several of their friends who repeatedly invited me over for dinner during the time I was there. Their friends are the coolest, funniest people I've met in a long time. Caring for the animals was such a joy! They are all very sweet natured and great companions to hang out with. Being so many they kept me entertained all day, even though the daily chores regarding the animals were easy and not really very time consuming. The house is very comfortable, spacious and quiet, surrounded by nature. The area is beautiful and offers lots of hiking possibilities. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Paula, Spain, 14 June, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

A charming Farm Stay

Joanna and Rick are very accomodating hosts and were organized in their orientation to the farm and the chores. They also introduced us to their friends and local shop owner, all of which were important contacts. They communicated during their vacation, making sure all was going good. They provided the use of their truck, which was very important, since there is really no public transportaion that is viable to use. We enjoyed our time in central Portugal.

Linda, United States, 07 November, 2017