Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Guest house in the Bulgarian Mountains

Bulgaria, Yablanitsa, Lovech

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)

2 dogs and a cat and 4 free range hens

Duration

  • Period available: 9 months, 1 week
  • Starts: 20 April 2019
  • Ends: 31 January 2020

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

About this assignment

I'm looking for a practical independent person to spend time in the Bulgarian Mountains. Ideally suit a creative, contemplative type who needs peace and quiet and values natural beauty. Also, someone who likes dogs! If you like gardening, even better....Would also suit a couple, if they have some time for some basic DIY and especially gardening. EU citizens preferred as otherwise stays are restricted to a 3 month visa......

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

To walk 2 well-behaved dogs twice a day - easy as the garden backs straight onto the mountain. Also to feed the dogs and a friendly cat. Also, to water the garden sometimes. And now there are 6 hens to feed too :)

What are the good features of the property and location

The house is on the edge of a village, so there are quiet neighbours 100m away and a couple of shops within 6 minutes walk. There are further shops and medical facilities 6km away, an easy cycle or hitchhike with the friendly villagers. It's a very safe place to stay.
The whole area is full of stunning, unspoiled forests and mountains, all highly accessible!
The guest house where you'll be staying is cosy, with a log stove and a modern kitchen and bathroom. There is wi-fi.
Sofia is an hour away, which is where I work, returning to the village most weekends. We'll be in separate houses though, so this won't disturb you, although a shared cup of tea might be nice sometimes. Also, if you'd like to explore the area further, I'll be happy to arrange to come back to the village for longer periods, enabling you to take trips to explore this fascinating country, including the capital, Sofia and its neighbours.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

I can't offer any pay, but you'll be living in a beautiful place and visitors always have a magical time here!
Wi-fi is usually good ( I need it myself for work) but if you need to make say, video calls for appointments with clients, then I wouldn't like to guarantee it will be fast enough for that. On the upside, there are no bandwidth restrictions!
Some weekends I will be bringing my daughter, so there may be some shrieking from a 4 year old girl and her friend ;)
There are a few people in the village who speak English, but away from the capital, not much English is spoken, but everyone usually muddles through in the local shop and with the neighbours....

Last updated: 27 February 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Hurry up lol.

Seriously, I'm here right now however the person to follow on from me isn't or can't come. So Max, the owner needs someone to fill in. I'd stay in a heartbeat but I committed to someone else. Max is a great guy, the dogs are grand, no problem at all, the cat really is a thief, proper 'cat burglar' lol. In saying that he is no trouble and quite affectionate. Nice small number of expats who will mind you or leave you alone. I have and am having a perfectly good time. If you are swithering about this sit do yourself a favour and come enjoy the house the hills and the village. John

John, 28 November, 2016

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Wonderful sit

I had the pleasure of sitting for Max for almost 3 months during the '16 summer. Max made sure I was situated and had local contacts for help. The guest house is very comfortable. As promised, I was able to get away a few times to explore Bulgaria. The dogs spoiled me as they are so well behaved and intelligent. The cat is very sweet (but watch any food left out!). I didn't have a car and managed all right, but a car would definitely be an asset since Malak Izvor is 6KM from a decent supermarket (although you can catch a bus to Sofia 2KM from the village a few times a day).

Rae, Mexico, 15 November, 2016

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions