Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Long-term house/petsitter(s) required

Bulgaria, Gabrovo

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)

They are all gorgeous and friendly, soft and beautiful.

Duration

  • Period available: 6 months, 3 days
  • Starts: 15 December 2020
  • Ends: 19 June 2021

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I am looking for a sitter who loves animals...in particular dogs and cats...since I have three dogs and two cats at present. One of the dogs may not be here for much longer though, as my daughter would like to have her. She is Poppy, the youngest of the three and looks like a sheepdog in the photo of her with Sunny, the golden street dog. The oldest dog, Honey, is a good guard dog but tends to bark at every noise...and sometimes even at me. Haha She is a very needy dog and needs quite a lot of attention. Sunny is quite a calm dog and independent but also very affectionate when she gets to know people. They are very lovely pets and quite obedient as well.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

To look after the animals as if they were their own and love them, keep them well fed and groomed. They should also try to keep the rooms as clean as possible and water the garden daily...whilst the weather is good. The heat is provided by a wood-burning stove in the hallway (which is used as my lounge) and the heat spreads into all the adjoining rooms. I also have some electric heaters and two fan heaters for use (sparingly) when the weather is at its coldest (from mid-December to late March).

What are the good features of the property and location

A large unkempt garden, outbuildings (a storage room and garage) plus room for a car or caravan in the barn. The barn is separated from the house about 25-30 metres away.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The village is small but there are two other English families here. The villagers are friendly and helpful once you know them. There are two shops that sell most basic necessities, a hairdresser, town hall and post office. The mayor speaks a little bit of English! There is a bus service into Byala (the nearest small town) every morning at 06.30-ish and a bus that goes into Byala at 08.30-ish from the terminal (close to my house) or from the village centre (1.3 kilometres away). That bus returns back to Bosilkovtsi at about 13.10 or so from the bus station in Byala. There is Fibre Optic Internet service in the house. The village isn't the most exciting place but, if you want peace and quiet, you'll get it here!

Last updated: 24 August 2020
8 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

My first experience

Catherine is a wonderful woman with positive emotions and energy. She answers very quickly, understandably. We talked on the phone WhatsApp. She gave me detailed instructions on how to feed the dogs and cats and take care of the house. I was helped by instructions on the movement of transport from Bucharest, from Ruse, from Byala and there is a direct bus from Ruse to Bosilkovtsi. Catherine has many English and Bulgarian friends in Bosilkovtsi and in Byala. I felt the support of Catherine and her friends, and I was glad to tears that she and her friends treat me well and are ready to help me. I learned Bulgarian words in advance, wrote the names of products and detergents to buy in the store or pazar (lokal market). You must have money both on the card and in cash, euros and Bulgarian leva..In the house is a Wi-Fi.. I took my scissors to clean the vineyard , and thought about making a flower garden of daffodils to bloom in spring, so Katerina's Bulgarian house would be well-groomed and pleasant. Dear readers, the situation with Covid brings us its changes in our lives and travels. Therefore, be respectful of the house, its cleanliness, appreciate the work that the owner has done inside and outside the house, keep surfaces and your hands clean, take masks, gloves and use a lot of sanitizer. Catherine, I hope to see you in the future!

Iulia, Moldova, 17 September, 2020

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions