Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Caring and responsible animal lovers needed for one cat and one small dog in large comfortable village house in picturesque Limousin area of France. About an hour's drive from Limoges, with international airport

  • Location: France, 19230 TROCHE
  • Period available: 1 week, 3 days
  • Starts: 9 September 2018
  • Ends: 19 September 2018
  • Testimonials: They have 2 testimonials (view below)
  • Pets: Dog(s), Cat(s)
  • Last updated: 4 July 2018

About this assignment

Caring and patient, with experience of cats and dogs. Responsible, tidy and non-smoker.
Happy to walk our dog, about twice a day, and to keep her company. Also to keep an eye on our cat and play with him occasionally.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feeding, walking and brushing our small dog, Poppy, (Westie/bichon frisé cross), 7 years old, who is friendly, affectionate and loves company. Two walks a day, plus taking out before bedtime.

Feeding our cat, Siri, nearly 3 years old, keeping him company and playing with him, especially when he can't go out. He is very affectionate and likes to play and be cuddled. Keeping an eye on him, letting him out and getting him back in at the end of the day.
Checking them both for ticks and fleas, plus occasional brushing. Both Poppy and Siri are rescue animals, are very good-natured, get on well and play together.

Keeping the house generally clean and tidy. Watering and little maintenance jobs in the garden, e.g. dead-heading.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is a roomy, comfortable village house with small garden, on the edge of a small village in a rural area of the Limousin, 10 mins from larger villages with shops, supermarkets. Our village has a boulangerie, an auberge and part-time post office. We have bikes that sitters could use.

Beautiful area, lakes and hills. Lots of lovely walks, with canoeing and horse-riding available, also lakes close by with beaches for swimming. Many tourist attractions such as chateaux, caves, gardens, etc.

Easily accessible from A20 motorway or via airports in Brive or Limoges. Nearest large town is Brive, about 40 mins' drive.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Sitters would need to have a car, as the bus service is very limited. However, there are train stations only about 6 and 12 kms away.

Our cat, Siri, who we rescued when a tiny kitten, can be a bit shy at first, but afterwards is very affectionate. He goes out and about during the day but we keep him in after dinner/before dusk. We have a micro-chip reactive catflap which Siri uses, as well as the doors. He's usually quite good about coming when called.

Poppy, our dog, loves people and company, is very affectionate and loves walks. She gets on well with most dogs and is generally quite obedient.



Testimonials

Staying with Poppy and Siri

I've just been staying for 2 weeks at this lovely house in the french countryside. It has been such a fine experience (my first house-sitting). The house itself with its large and beautiful garden is already a pleasure to stay. The surroundings are quit and beautiful with also lovely old villages nearby. But the superbonus were the two gorgeous inhabitants, dog Poppy and cat Siri. Both so very friendly. Poppy is the easiest dog you can imagine. Therefore I'd love to take her literally everywhere and she always happily went along. And Siri as man of the house slept beside me every night;-)) And as friendly as the animals are the owners. All the contact with them went so easy, relaxed and at the same time very clear.

Lydia, Netherlands, 15 June, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Housesitting in France

Me and my boyfriend housesat in France for the first time this summer (2017). And we had a great experience! Partly because we had two lovely pets to look after ( a small dog, Poppy, and a cuddly cat ,Siri) and a great house in the countryside in France but also (and more importantly ) great instructions from the owners Jennifer and Howard. Jennifer took the time to write all the details about the animals and the house to us. That meant that every time we had a question during our two week stay we could just go to her notes to see what we should do. We also arrived a day before the left so that we could look at the house and see where everything was for ourselves. All in all we had a great expreience and I would recomend this houssit to anyone.

Izabelle, Sweden, 14 August, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions
Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top