Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Small eco hobbyfarm in the meadows

Belgium, Muisven, Meeuwen-Gruitrode, Flanders

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Chicken(s)
  • Goat(s)
  • Farm animal(s)

2 geiten, 50 schapen, 4 honden, 9 kippen

Duration

  • Period available: 6 months, 4 weeks
  • Starts: 1 April 2023
  • Ends: 31 October 2023

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We look for people to take care of the house, pets, animals and small garden. You will need to be inspired by the countryside and life.
We have a milk goat that needs to be milked once a day. If you don't have experience you just need motivation to learn it and handy fingers. Its is easy.. just a trick.
We ask respect for nature, environment, our sustainable lifestyle.
Our house is recently sustainable renovated with solarpower systems and biomass heating.

NOTE ABOUT THE PERIOD listed:
the period that is listed is from april until october, every year.
BUT it does not mean that we need a houssitter for the whole sequential period.
In the listed period we go abroad in several (mostly 5 or 6) shorter periods, from 1 weekend, or 1 week up to 4 weeks. But never sequentially. Just contact us to check on these smaller periods. Or you let us know which smaller period you would be free.

nl-tekst: Ervaring in het oppassen van huisdieren en kleinvee. Zin voor avontuur en het buitenleven. Beperkt onderhoud van de tuin.
Ook het melken van de geit. Maar indien dit laatste er niet is, dan is de motivatie om ervaring op te doen heel belangrijk.
Respect voor onze bio-ecologisch verbouwde woning
Respect voor onze levensstijl, wij zijn milieubewuste mensen met veel respect voor onze omgeving, de natuur, fauna en flora.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

you will have to take care of the house as if its your own. Then we have 1 housecat, Musty. 2 milkgoats, our Mamzel and Spunk. The need love, food and enough to drink. A few chickens. About 50 sheep graze in a few meadows within 1km. We have a friends Who takes care of them but you can visit them every 2a3 days to make sure they are ok and have enough water. For professional help, when needed, we have a list of urgency numbers to call.
There is a small garden, small lawn, 2 greenhouses full with tomatoes to be looked after and for daily use as well. Only in summer.
You will need some technical insight as wel since we have a solarpower system for warm water, electricity. Just to be able to make an assessment if something goes wrong to get professional help. You will need to be inventive/creative and a bit handy for the normal house-farm things that you will encounter.
Our 3 border collies go with us on holiday. If they are at home they have there own kennels opposite the house, at the stable, all together around the barnyard. The are used to walk free during the (some ours) day on this area that is fenced. They play in a group but like to be triggered into fun with small balls. The are lively and social. And very intelligent. The listen very well since they are trained in sheepdog trialing. They competed at european-level. The are like our children.

Nl-tekst:
oppassen op de woning met 1 kat, 2 melkgeiten, 50 schapen, enkele kippen en een beperkte tuin met groenten. we hebben ook 3 honden(border collies) maar die gaan ook soms met ons mee op vakantie
de kat woont mee in het huis en heeft liefde nodig
de geiten moet 1 of 2 keer per dag gemolken worden
de schapen moeten elke 2 dagen eens bezocht in de weide en gekeken of ze nog genoeg water hebben. Maar een vriend zorgt voor hen.
de honden(4 border collies) , als ze thuis zijn, wonen op het erf en hebben liefde nodig. Ze moeten uiteraard ook 2x per dag eten krijgen. Als ze thuis zijn slapen ze in hun buitenkennel maar overdag mogen ze op het erf rondlopen.
Ons huis is voorzien van zijn eigen solarsystemen (warmwater en electriciteit) en eigen afvalwaterzuivering maar een beperkt toezicht is hier op nodig. Dit wordt allemaal heel duidelijk afgesproken op voorhand en vraagt geen technische kennis.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is situated at a small road in between the fields. We have a very healthy sustainable renovated house. It is cosy and well isolated. With a lot of windows to enjoy the nature around it. A courtyard separates it from the stable. We also have a pond with sauna. A permaculture garden with a variety of fruit trees. A small forest at the side separates it from the neighbour's.
The village is a small quiet rural village, bakery and locale shop at cycle distance.
there are some very interesting cities within 30...60min drive. Like Hasselt, Maastricht, Aachen, Koln, Antwerp, Brussels.
We have our national park, famous cycle network and horse driving network. All at 500m from the house.
We have our own historical attractions with gothic churches, medieval water castle etc. You can look it up on the website of our village and the province we live in.
Our province is the greenest of Belgium and famous for its hospitality and friendly people.

NL tekst:
Ons huis ligt aan een doodlopende straat. Het is een warm en gezellig nest. Grote venster om te genieten van de natuur eromheen. Er is een permacultuur tuin en een grote variëteit aan fruitbomen Er is een zwemvijver met sauna. Een kleine bos zorgt hier voor de nodige privacy. We wonen I een rustig, landelijk, dorp. Toch dichtbij grote steden (va 30km) , dichtbij natuurgebied(5km), uitgebreid fietsnetwerk in de buurt (150m), uitgebreid paardenmennetwerk in de buurt (500m).
Euregionale ligging met Maastricht op 40minuten rijden, Antwerpen op 60minuten rijden, Aken op 50 minuten rijden.
....
Onze woning ligt in een doodlopend straatje tussen de akkers en weide. We hebben 3 border collies. Verder enkele kippen en een kat. We hebben schapen in de weides in de directe omgeving en 2 geiten in de weide aan huis. Deze wordt gemolken; dus als je er geen ervaring mee hebt zie het als een opportuniteit om deze ervaring op te doen. Bij gebrek aan ervaring krijg je een stoomcursus melken, kaas en yoghourt maken. Voor mensen met eigen paard of kleinvee is er ook stallingsgelegenheid met weide.
Onze woning is sinds recent duurzaam verbouwd (bio-ecologisch). Er is veel plaats op het erf, een grote stal, fietsen, fruitbomen en een hof. Voor iedereen die van het buitenleven houdt is er wel wat ... ook in de omgeving ... Wil je een namiddag of avond naar de stad: geen probleem: op 40minuten ben je of in Maastricht of in Hasselt.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

sitters can work out there experience with pets and animals, but the workload comes with it
sitters wit no experience but motivation can learn about it all ... then we have to arrange some extra days of training to learn to milk, make yogurt, cheese ...
you will be in need of creativity, you will have to be handy and with a minimum of technical insight

NL tekst:
ofwel heb je ervaring met zulke (huis) dieren en dan kan je genieten van onze eco hobbyboerderij
ofwel wil je ervaring opdoen en dan kan je veel leren: melken, kaas en youghourt maken
dan moet je wel enkele dagen meer komen zodat wij hun dat kunnen leren



Last updated: 23 December 2022
28 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Great host at a lovely eco farm

Marij and Elianne are super sweet hosts. I stayed at her farm for over two weeks, taking care of all the animals. Although I had no previous experience with housesitting a farm, nor goats or sheep, Marij was super helpful and made sure I understood everything before leaving. In case of any emergencies, Marij was always very chill and only a call away, as well as her dear friends in the village. I will be very happy to come back.

Katerina, Czech Republic, 07 October, 2022

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Beautiful weeks on a small hobby farm in Belgium with chickens, a cat, dogs and a great goat ;-)

In 2016 I was in Belgium three times to mind Marijs and Elianes cosy Home. There are many sheep on the pastures around the house, 4 lovely dogs, a cat, chickens and a stubborn but loveable goat I learned to milk. I really enjoy being with Marij and Eliane and my work with the animals and around the house. I was never left alone with any questions, also friends were contact partner. It felt like a home from home, because they made me feel welcome from the very beginning! I cared for the animals, milked the goat, and still had a lot of time to discover nature around! I´d come back anytime ;-)

Lina, 21 March, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions