Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Puglia, Southern Italy - House and Pet Sitter

Italy, Mesagne, Apulia

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Chicken(s)

3 Dogs and 3 chickens

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 1 week
  • Starts: 4 September 2020
  • Ends: 17 October 2020

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I'm looking for a nice, responsible retired COUPLE (no single Person)
with experience

to take care of my house and my dogs and chickens when I am not present!

I have to rely 100% on the house sitters.


What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

For us it is important, that the animals are well cared for and the house is kept neat and clean and that someone is ALWAYS present at night!

If you can carry out minor repairs also, if necessary, would be beneficial.

Most important:
The house sitters should contact us immediately if a problem should arise. Whether at home or with the animals. Any problem should be reported to us immediately so that we can find a quick solution.


What are the good features of the property and location

The house is very nice and comfortably furnished in country-house style and 2 kilometers located outside the town Mesagne on a large plot In a quiet, relaxing location. The property is fenced. There are neighbors around.
In the wintertime the house is heated by a fireplace, which makes it cozy and warm.

The Adriatic coast is 15 km, the ionic coast 30 km away.

Mesagne is a nice small town with about 27.000 inhabitants.

Wonderful climate. Winter temperatures very pleasant, about 2 to 10 in night time, 8 to 20 and more in the daytime. Lots of sunny days, even rainydays, Humidity in Winter a little higher. Very rarely zero or under zero degrees. Summer is wonderful. Please check the climate / temperature online.

Lot of cultural attractions in the surrounding area.

TV / Internet / Wi-Fi is at your disposal.

Supermarket is located at the entrance of Mesagne.

Please note:
I do not pay for the housesit. I leave the house for free (including Internet costs, electricity, gas and wood), as long as the utility costs not raise our usually costs for two people. I think this is an acceptable solution for both sides.

If you are interested, I will be happy to give you more details and to answer all your questions. Thank you!

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Excellent Health
experiences in house sitting
References
Experience and lot of love for dogs
Dont bring animals with you
Small gardening
Experience with fireplace
Skilled craftsmanship
Cleanliness
You should have a private liability insurance.
Non smokers


Since our property is situated two kilometers outside the town, a car would be an advantage. Would be easier.

If you do not have a car at your disposal you can use my 2 bicycles.

Last updated: 15 May 2020
9 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Great house sit in Italy

We have housesitted for Maryanne in Italy now twice , once in the winter period and once in the summer , both are a very special memories that will stay with us for many years to come ! The house is very nice and spacious and very welcoming and homely, the dogs are incredibly adorable they all have their own individual character they are all friendly and no bother at all to take care of. The chicken was also no bother and she too was lovely to care for and she adores a cuddle and interaction ! We also took a hasso a black Labrador dog , on the olive groves and Mona a cross collie street dog that stays with hasso with us on our daily walks around the groves , they too loved just being around us and are both friendly dogs and show as much affection to you as you give them !!! we miss them lots. Puglia is a very beautiful part of Italy , that a car is required to get out and about to see but there is plenty of places to explore whether for architecture ,history,shopping, sightseeing or lazy days on the beach we certainly filled our time with getting out and about both in the winter and the summer ! We hit temperatures in high 40s in the summer and that can be quite something to cope with especially without air conditioning but we nurtured it and coped ok! Maryanne is always contactable in her absence and will always reply to you quickly, Francesco who works on the olive groves at the rear, is a very lovely friendly gentleman who is always willing to help you , he is very generous , always bringing us fruit and vegetables he has grown or picked, it was always a pleasure and s highlight to see him every day when he would come to feed his dogs , we wish we could of had more conversations with him but our lack of Italian often caused problems with the language barrier ! but we got by and coped ok . Maryanne is the most loveliest person anyone could wish to meet ,she welcomed us into her home with open arms she is very hospitable and easy going ! we have met her son Giuliano and her husband Donato both are also lovely friendly people. If you are given the opportunity to housesit for Maryanne , you will not be disappointed! we enjoyed both our stays tremendously and would not hesitate in sitting again , if we are available and free when needed , but please do not hesitate if you get the opportunity take it ,the house ,the animals the environment the neighbours and the whole family are just perfect and accommodating you will not be disappointed . Dave and jill house-sitters January to April 2018 and May to sept 2019

DAVID, United Kingdom, 16 October, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions