Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Farmhouse, smallholding with 2 Horses, 2 dogs, 4 cats, 40 chickens, and 15 pigeons

France, Villaret, Mairé-Levescault, Metropolitan France

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)
  • Chicken(s)
  • Bird(s)
  • Farm animal(s)

2 Horses, 2 Dogs, 4 Cats, 40 free range chickens, 15 pigeons...

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks
  • Starts: 27 September 2022
  • Ends: 11 October 2022

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I need to travel around 27 September 2022 for 2 weeks, my dogs will travel with me this time. I will be leaving 40 chickens, 4 cats, 15 pigeons and 2 horses at home. I need someone reliable and experienced with livestock, and I mean experienced please? (not a dreamer following a recent very bad experience which meant I had to return early) you will be happy to live here with my animals.
The successful sitter will need to sign the legal contract , a copy of which is available on this site for your perusal .

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Take care of the house, possibly light fires if its cold enough in September (unlikely) chop /stack wood if needed. Minor maintenance maybe required while I am away (I have a maintenance person available in a nearby village, so its no biggie).... Take care of the animals properly, there are a lot of them and it takes time morning and evening, as well as be a presence at the property. Although it will free up plenty of time to explore this beautiful countryside. A car driver is essential, although I cannot provide a vehicle. There are bicycles at the property that can be used, the local town is less than 10 mins away by bike..

What are the good features of the property and location

3 large bedrooms (guest room is ensuite) in an old Farmhouse, fenced in 7 acres (2.7 hectares) land, woodland and big garden, stone floors downstairs, rural but still only 5 minutes away from Sauze Vaussis which has excellent facilities, market, artisan bakers, supermarket, DIY shop etc..closest large City is Poitiers 40 minutes drive... Paris and Bordeaux are easily reached by train from Saint Saviol station.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

all of the animals MUST be properly checked at least twice a day, common sense is needed, you must not be scared of any of my animals and livestock that I have listed, you must be able to prove to me that you are experienced with livestock... Fences checked daily, chickens locked safely away at night, (I have foxes , buzzards, and pine martins that live in the woods) and let out in the morning, or maybe sometimes keep the chickens in, because of predators in the immediate vicinity, (common sense is the priority), cats fed,and their litter renewed, horses will need fly masks adjusting, fly repellent applied, hooves picked , mucking out, and their health and well being monitored ...You will need your own transport. there is a bus from the village, Sauze Vaussis is around 4 kms away..
I look forward to hearing from you.. Thank you for reading..

Last updated: 21 July 2022
Only 1 sitter has applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Beautiful Countryside of France

We had the pleasure of house sitting five weeks this summer for Debbie. Her four large dogs are well mannered and trained. We took them for long walks each morning in the woods nearby so they spent the balance of the days snoozing without getting into mischief. We sometimes would be gone for a few hours doing errands or sightseeing and we were never concerned about either them or the house. The chickens were fairly self-sufficient; the most time spent on them was looking for their eggs. The horses are very calm and needed little maintenance. Ruby can be somewhat of a diva, but warms up soon enough. Debbie was quick to reply with any questions/concerns. There are always unplanned things that occur, hence the need for house sitters. La Bayette is a quiet and safe village. We could depend on the ex pats who live in the community if there was an issue. Ruffec is only a few kilometers away and we enjoyed going to their vibrant market twice/week. There are also three major grocery stores and several very good restaurants nearby. In summer there are many community events. We attended four and they were all enjoyable. There are also many “picture postcard” communities within bicycling distance.

JoDon, United States, 31 August, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions

Beautiful and tranquil

This place is very rural; perfect if you value tranquility and serenity. It's set in a gorgeous 16th century hamlet. Although there seem to be a lot of animals, it's really only 1-2 hours per day of work then the rest of your time is your own. The closest town is less than 5 miles away, 30 minutes by bicycle through the idyllic French countryside.

Jeffrey, 08 August, 2018

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions